It already is? If I visit a single commit's page, in the Options drop-down on the top right-hand side I can click Revert, and a modal pops up asking me in which branch I want to revert that commit.
Hmm, what magic is that? It appears to create a new branch with the revert, and create a merge request from that branch to the branch I select - which is what I expected. This is of course with "Start a new merge request with these changes" checked. When it's unchecked, I'd expect it to make the revert commit directly on that branch; is that not what happens?